Overcoming trust issues

je****

Posted

I'm looking for tips on shifting my mindset. I'm new to kink and joined mainly to find ways to calm my constantly racing thoughts. Unfortunately, communication hasn't been great with the people I've met so far, and trust is a huge issue for me. Despite the challenges, I've been pushing myself to open up, but it's been tough.

I thought I found the perfect person who was experienced and seemed open to helping newcomers. We shared several interests, and everything seemed great initially, especially when we met. Our first session confirmed everything I had read about the benefits of kink. However, things felt off after he 'forgot to hit send' on a reply message to me the next day, making me wonder if he was dealing with personal stuff. But since I can only go off what I know, I had to rethink things. 

Then, I met another guy who lied about his name and his experience. I may be new here, but it was clear he wasn't as experienced as he claimed. That really shook me because I had ignored my gut feeling about him, which made me pretty mad at myself.

I had a couple of weeks off work, no kids, and decided to try again and reached out to the first guy again in an effort to see if he was free. When he dodged my question and flipped it back on me asking what my plans were, I decided he wasn't right for me. When I finally communicated this to him I didn't even get a response back.

The second guy, I get it—he probably has a lot of insecurities about his desires. But that's not something I should have to deal with.

I never got the chance to talk to the first guy about how helpful our session was, so now I'm left feeling frustrated and more distrustful than before. I came here to better my mental health, not deal with everyone else's issues. I've got enough of my own, trust me.