Wondering how many people understand the difference between a top and a dominant

Hyperion-D6379

Posted

I consider myself more of a "TOP" than a "Dominant" I run into a lot of people that don't understand the difference.

I'm wondering who many people understand the difference, and what their preference is.

Posted

I think people try to simplify things - it's also not helped that sometimes people use Top (or bottom) as an insult ("you're not a Dom you're a Top" - as if it's lesser) 

I think a lot of people who are referred to as Dominants are actually Tops - buuut - that's OK.  As long as everyone involved is having fun.

Posted

I identify as a Top. For me it's the difference between fun and a much higher level of power play with stricter rules and consequences which raise the levels of tension, stress and uncertainty. I like mutual decision making , tying up ( or restraining) a lady and  giving a good spanking. Although I am new to this they tend to purr.......I must try harder!😂

Posted

@Hyperion-D6379 @eyemblacksheep in the pursuit of correcting and improving my knowledge and understanding, I would like to admit that I do not understand the difference. I thought that these two terms were synonymous. Since I cannot find any articles about Top specifically, or the difference between it and Dominant, would you be kind enough to enlighten me, please?

Posted
In the gay scene at least being a top is the person who gives the cock and the bottom is the person receiving. After that its all blury to me in the heterosexual , i assume a top is more on the domanant side, or maybe the one who inniciates play or a scene.
Posted