Building a foundation

Fe****

Posted
We’ve all seen it, people swept away in a new romantic relationship or dynamic, ignoring any and all the red flags.
We’ve even discussed it in the lobby, for which I’m very grateful for the insight of everyone.
I’m a builder and a rock climber. And I have often related building things upon those real life experiences I have had with work and building relationships with people in general, and building up those dynamics and relationships.
I have said you can’t hang the rafters before you pour the concrete foundations.
But in reality, there is so much prep work before you even get to the point where you can pour the foundations.
A building starts with an idea, a scrap of paper, an drawing on a napkin, it then get developed into a sketch, then developed into plans with many engineers looking at every aspect from the very dirt itself to the final structure before it built, then permits are filed and a construction crew is chosen. It doesn’t end there, the construction crew develop their plans to execute the drawings and the building and ask many many in depth questions, will this work, or will that work, what about the budget, are their ways to improve the building, etc. And then.. they begin building.. not the trusses, not the roof first, but the very dirt the entire building will sit on, it has to be right, or the building will fall, crack, break. It will become dangerous.
In entering a relationship or dynamic, is your (or mine) thoughts, emotional, psychological ready? Have I done the research on myself, and completed the hard work to be able to pour the foundations of a relationship? Have I spent the time on myself that if I was to be alone suddenly, I would be okay?
In this fast paced world where instant gratification seems to be rampant, time spent on oneself seems to have been forgotten and pushed to the side.