Too stressed for kink?

Quil

Posted

I am relatively new to being a dominant. I have been in a bedroom only exclusive relationship with an experienced submissive for over a year now. From the very beginning we discussed the BDSM activity check list. Recently we have been having less kink. She told me it comes in waves for her and once when she was single, she did not participate in anything kinky for 3 years.

Her work and insomnia have been the reasons she is too stressed for kink.

We don’t live together. We see each other four times out of the week. 

It’s been hard for me in a dominant role to know how to approach this. Everything I have read points to BDSM as a stress reliever. I have told her I will keep pushing her but still be patient. I focus on the relationship. I do what I can to help her around her apartment, bring her foods and take her out and be as supportive as a boyfriend should. I do have a protocol of a ten rules I have established for our dynamic. Some have worked out. Some have not. She has told me it’s not up to me but her, but I am a bit of a perfectionist. I don’t want to approach her as trying to fix anything but still I’m driven to lead. Is there any advice on helping someone you are in a relationship with get back into kink?

Posted

As her Dominant, your role is ensuring her well being and care for her, your needs always come second at this time. I suggest you discuss things, understand her needs. We are all human and life is challenging, this will difficult theirs no right answer. Communication and understanding is key, have a look at your rules and why they don’t work. Best of luck

Posted

What’s the protocol of ten rules? Did she agreed to them?
It sound like she rules the dynamic not you... did you know about her issues?
You can’t drive someone back to kink if they don’t have the mind set for it. Either you are patient or find someone else.

Posted