Bondage (and kink in general) and EDS

Nocturne

Posted

Hello,

I'm new to bondage, and a person who is interested in exploring this with me once I know more and have some practice has informed me they have EDS; ehlers danlos syndrome. Do any of you have experience with bondage with someone with EDS? Are there additional safety precautions that need to be kept in mind besides those listed on The Duchy's safety list, as well as paying extra attention to the joints and possibly leaving a bit more leeway space? 

Evidently, it will be some time before me and this person actually will do anything, given I have much to learn, but I'd like to hear a bit about the specifics for EDS if people here have input on it.

Thank you and have a good day/night.

Posted
No experience with bondage and ehlers danlos but some with the condition itself.
Given your reference to the Duchy webaite I'm assumung you're talking about rope bondage/shibari?
Primarily you'll want to avoid placing any pressure on the joints at all due to the potential for dislocation. The skin can sometimes be fragile and tear with the slightest pressure.
The person with ED should be in a position to tell you more about how they experience the condition specifically to them. What's their range of motion like. How frequently are they dislocating, if at all which joints are more prone. How much body awareness do they have. Due they have skin sensitivities, issues with sensation such as blistering, irritation or circulation. Do they experience muscle fatigue which will affect how long they can stay in a tie. Im sure there's more but really, they need to do their own risk profile which will inform you.
It's also not acceptable for them to simply say that they will "do anything". What happens when they get injured, will they be accepting full responsibility or will they drag your name through the mud? It's fine to educate yourself but they need to do the same.
Posted