Reflections on ***: It’s Not Always Bad. And It’s Not That Bad.

Posted

These are the phrases that have kept me in an abusive for the whole of my adult life. Shame, guilt, uncertainty, self-loathing, undeserving. These are the feelings that kept me here too. 

My Silence was his greatest accomplice. 

So I’m posting this here to end my silence and my collaboration in my own suffering.

Even now I doubt myself. Because I am a strong independent woman. I’m not the kind of woman to suffer ***. I’m a professional. Clever even. I know what is right and wrong. And still those phrases creep in.

‘It wasn’t always bad’

‘I wasn’t that bad’

I ponder their origins. My dysfunctional childhood maybe? My lack of self esteem and loneliness even before all of this? The media portrayal of ***?

I feel like I want to linger on the last one. Of course it’s great that shows highlight ***. But the need for pace and drama and climax, means that the more subtle, chip away at you, coercive *** is rarely dealt with. 

‘It wasn’t that bad’.

And the perpetrator is never really likeable or charming or ***. Because that would confuse the loyalties of the viewer. But that’s the point isn’t it? To be always uncertain of yourself. I have yet to see or read anything that creates that sense in the audience. Is it *** or is she just a crazy bitch? He doesn’t mean it. He just loves her and is so afraid to lose her. 

When do we know that it is ***?  

It has taken me 18 years and counselling to recognise it. And still I doubt myself. Am I a drama Queen? Am I just focusing on the bad? I am ruining his life. I am a kind person, why am I hurting him? 

Because all I have done for 18 years is feel relieved when he is happy and calm. I have been programmed by my trauma to relinquish all of his feelings of shame and guilt for a life that has been at best bearable and at worst terrifying.