Tips for a sub leaning switch

Posted

Hi! 

This is my first time posting here so please be kind 😊 I will try to articulate myself as best as I can. 

I am a sub leaning switch, my partner is a dom leaning switch (in our dynamic). There are times when I reaaaally want to top them, but I lack the confidence. 

I find myself being more of a soft dom, simply because I have virtually no experience in being a dom. All my previous relationships have either been vanilla or I've been the sub. I'm really looking to broaden my horizons and explore my dominant side more thoroughly. 

I find researching things beforehand can help with my confidence, so please drop any resources that have helped you in the past & give me any advice you can on helping me build my confidence. 

Ps, my partner and I communicate very well and I know what they like/dislike and all of their limits etc. They know I'm working on my confidence as a dom/top too 😊

Posted

Just tell them that you are in control for one scene and try it. Doing it again and again is the best confidence builder. Well that and when you see how much fun your partner is having.

Posted
I was going to say just do what feels natural, you can’t do anything wrong. But that is not 100% accurate. Regarding the mental aspect of Topping him, just do it. If the two of you communicate well, just try things and see what works. It will either work or you can discuss what did not work and possible laugh about it. Then try again another time. In my opinion, no matter how experienced a Top may be, communicating after a session can be helpful and insightful.

Now when it comes to the physical aspect, that is where you can do something wrong. If you are going to use rope, or candles, or do impact play, or breath play or a many number of things, you need to research enough to make sure you are doing it safely. In all honesty, I would encourage bottoms/subs to know enough about what their Top is doing to make sure that it is being done safely.