Disclosing Kink as a Patient in Medical Contexts

ro****

Posted
Hi All,

I'm curious if/when you disclose your practice of BDSM/kink in medical contexts, be it to your GP, to Accident and Emergency, a psychologist, psychiatrist, or genealogist etc in reproductive health.

How do you screen for practitioners that are understanding of the lifestyle? Practitioners who will not judge, guilt, or pathologise/see it as a sign of disease/ psychological disturbance.

What does your first conversation look like? How do you prepare yourself for that conversation? When do you choose to disclose versus not to disclose?
Does kink alter you access medical care?
Are there any kink specific discussions you feel are necessary medically (outside of contraception and sti screening)?

Many thanks xx

---------

For personal context (and to likely overshare);

I'm 22. I've been practicing for a couple of years now. Even though I have a strong idea of what I like and do my best to educate myself on all things kinky, my lived experienced is comparatively little to other kinksters.

I'm asking this question as I'm aware of how kink influences how I access medical care, especially in regards to mental health where I often won't disclose it for *** of my sexual preferences being pathologised and going on my medical record as a symptom.

I feel this is especially likely from a psychiatric perspective. This *** also inhibits potentially useful discussions within a psychology setting (I decided to engage with a psychologist when I reached adulthood to process unhelpful habits, past experiences, and develop healthy programs.)

I have a wonderful doctor who I have alot of rapport with and who seems quite sexually inclusive.
I hold the discussions I know are necessary to ensure physical safety - the gender of my partners, my non monogamy and need for frequent screening - but I've never disclosed I practice kink.