BDSM & CPTSD: Introduction

kree90

Posted

Disclaimer:

Please keep in mind that I only have a Bachelor's Degree right now (only lol), so everything related to this series comes from my own extensive research, therapy, discussions with mental health professionals, and personal lived experience. That being said, I am not a medical provider. I very much intend to further my education to achieve a mental health professional status. 

Most of the following will be about a female with CPTSD and submissive. It can be similar for anyone, with either letter, or no letter at all.

___

No doubt you’ve heard of PTSD-Post traumatic stress disorder. We see this in soldiers and people who have experienced horrific events. You think of flashbacks, outbursts, and poor emotional regulation. Soldiers returning from war differed from the day they left. 

You can develop PTSD several times in your life, from separate events. Witnessing anything horrific will naturally affect you, especially if you’re in no position to help yourself, or others, or to stop it.

Some common symptoms of PTSD are:

*Reliving the event well after it is over

*Heightened states of arousal (not *that* kind)

*An array of emotions and physical reactions (like panic attacks)

*Unwanted thoughts

*Struggling with feeling safe

*Agitation, irritation, short temper

*Depression

In the early 90s, they introduced a new type of PTSD, adding a C in front of it. CPTSD stands for Complex Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. It comes from being chronically in danger and unsafe growing up. The primary caregivers could be the cause, of *** in the community, being trafficked, or growing up during wartime.