Becoming a Dom

Posted
So I’m very new to the whole kink scene, I was led ti this path after researching sex work for my psychology degree last year. It opened my eyes and I haven’t stopped thinking about it since. I have a authoritative background and I enjoy exerting authority & control. I’m also very interested in the psychology of language, both verbal and non verbal, and the behaviours it elicits in others. So my question is this, how does one go about becoming a Dom? I get there are classes and courses but most subs I see are , understandably, looking for experienced Dom’s. Even experienced Dom’s must have have learned somewhere?
Posted
Try finding a friend/play mate and gradually exercise and exert control in your relationship. Always do it with communication and consent. Basically just try to explore what you like and, as importantly, what your friend might like. My advice would be not to set your sights on becoming a dom. Rather, try to find yourself and create your own kinks, desires, and see where that takes you. I consider myself a dom, or top, but a fairly soft, pleasure orientated one. I'll happily spank or flog someone, but would be mortified if I felt that I'd done something without their consent, or that they didn't like.

So explore your desires and see where it takes you. Don't let words or titles categorise you.
Posted
It very much depends on personal circumstance, level of interest, areas of interest and more but for anyone, regardless of whether they are dominant, submissive or switch the journey starts with themselves and more importantly understanding themselves and their interests.
What is it that makes them dominant or submissive or switch? What kind of dominant, submissive or switch do they think they'd be? What kind of partner do they think they'd be looking for? What are their motivations? Are they looking for a committed D/s relationship or just occasional play? And many more similar questions are things to be considered.