Doming 101 — New Dom Seeks Advice

So****

Posted
Hello all you beautiful people!
I am fairly new to the scene, and even newer to Fet. I’ve browsed a myriad of bdsm and d/s websites, forums and a couple chat spaces like Reddit. Most of which pointed me here! But all in an effort to educate myself in what it meant to take up the role of Dom within a dynamic. So calling all experienced Doms. What advice do you wish you had starting out. What are some tricks of the trade. What does being a good Dom mean to you? Additionally, any resource material you recommend. Tidbits, suggestions & opinions welcomed.
And to you Subs out there, What does Doming mean to you? What in your case; qualifies as a proficient Dom? What’re some things Doms should learn or hone?
Of course I have more questions, but I hope we have discussions in the comments.
Thankyou everyone!
Posted
I wish I knew that first meeting should be vanilla and public. So you can walk away if something is wrong or off.
And listen to your sub. They will let you know what they want and need.
Posted
3 minutes ago, round-lake738 said:
I wish I knew that first meeting should be vanilla and public. So you can walk away if something is wrong or off.
And listen to your sub. They will let you know what they want and need.

This!

Posted
You know, a good Dom is essentially a good person. There aren't really any specific pointers to give other than that because D/s is specific to the individuals involved on any given dynamic. D/s (for me) starts with a vanilla connection and progresses to D/s. Submission isn't to be demanded, it's a verdict based upon actions. Respect the stype and their submission will evolve as the relationship does.
Re resources, I'd suggest you read the forums here, specifically looking at the posts by SirArchA and comments by Eyemblacksheep, Gemini_man and Thebian who consistently share good, honest and trustworthy viewpoints re the various aspects of D/s
Posted