(What I Think It Means) To Be Polyamorous

Posted

Technically I wrote this for my friend @Bounty, as she has been experiencing conflicting emotions, but I hope that this helps others too. A lot of people seem to struggle to understand the concept of having multiple partners, but while I am no expert, I would like to impart my own knowledge and opinions on those who wish to listen. I hope that maybe it clarifies some points.

Going straight to the basics

I took this directly from Google:

Polyamory (from Greek πολύ poly, "many, several", and Latin amor, "love") is the practice of, or desire for, intimate relationships with more than one partner, with the informed consent of all partners involved. It has been described as "consensual, ethical, and responsible non-monogamy".

Some say that polyamory is a bastardised word because it comes from two different languages, and instead they use the word polygamy, which is derived only from Greek. At first I appreciated this, but I did a bit of research and it turns out that polygamy is specifically about ; having more than one spouse. Knowing this, I think that “multiple *lovers*” is more relevant to this post, hence the title.

What is it like to have one partner?

Before I think about multiple partners, I would like to think about what it is like to be with only one. Of course everyone is unique, people have different values, so there are going to be many perspectives of how it feels to be committed to one person.