Playing Dominant

BacknBoise

Posted

I am new to this lifestyle but I’ve had dominant tendencies all my life.

I was introduced to this by someone and that was a full on slave and I enjoyed the little time we spent together before I moved

It was an awesome experience and I realize what I’ve been missing for so long

I have only had a few partners and although I do use safe words and we discuss before hand what’s going to happen, I struggle with some of things that women like and that I kind of want to do. 

I feel sometimes like I’m just “playing dominant “ which is odd because that goes against my nature.

'I guess my question is, are there others out there the deal with this same thing?

Thanks for your time

Posted
Inexperience may be behind why you're feeling that way and perhaps a lack of confidence in what you are doing to "feel" dominant.
No advice to you would be that you can never communicate too much - talk to your partners both before, during and after any play, understand their needs and put yours across beforehand, and ensure boundaries, limits etc are agreed and fully understood - check in during any play to make sure they're OK, maintain contact afterwards and discuss what went well, what didn't and develop ideas for another time.
Read as much as you can on the subject, from both a dominant and a submissive perspective, get along to kink events and munches, not with play in mind, but to observe and discuss with others of a like mind and learn from them.
Follow the above and with time you'll gain both experience and confidence in yourself, or will find that perhaps dominant is not for you, or that what you thought was your dominant self originally is somewhat different from what it actually is.
Posted
I think, as @Gemini_man has said, this is mainly down to a lack of confidence, something that will improve as you gain experience.